#2:1:39 wins Laureus Exceptional Achievement award | Only Three athlete in the world received it in the past

Sharing is caring!

 Image: NN Team & Getty Image

The IAAF’s World Male Athlete of the Year Eliud Kipchoge has been recognized at the Laureus Awards in Monaco on Monday (18) for his extraordinary performances in the past year. Kipchoge, who broke the world marathon record in Berlin last September, was honored with the Laureus Academy’s Exceptional Achievement award, a discretionary award that has only been handed out three times previously in the history of the event. Previous winners include swimming great Michael Phelps (2013), Chinese tennis champion Li Na (2015) and Italian football star Francesco Totti (2018).

Exceptional Achievement  Award, Only Three athletes in the world received it in the past,

Image: Getty Images

Eluid Speech after receiving the award:

“I would like to thank my fans around the world for all their support. I believe that a running world is a peaceful world, a sporting world is a healthy world and that a sporting world is an enjoyable world,” “It means a lot (to be recognized by the Laureus Academy),” Kipchoge added. “It means that I have been making a big impact in this world – to be recognized for exceptional achievement not just in athletics, but in the whole category of sport. It’s nice to mingle with the people from tennis, from basketball, from motor racing, from football, from gymnastics.”


First time in the Long Distance Running history only one athlete made it to the Laureus World Sports Awards

Eluid Performance at Berlin Marathon 2018

Gold medal – first place 2018 Berlin 2:01:39 ( World Record
Berlin 2018 Marathon Eliud Kipchoge split times

Distance interval

Time Overall time Notes
5k 14:24 14:24
10k 14:37 29:01
15k 14:36 43:37
20k 14:19 57:56
21.0975 km (Half Marathon) (3:10) 1:01:06 or 61:06
25k 14:28 1:12:24 (WR 1:11:18, Dennis Kipruto Kimetto)
30k 14:21 1:26:45 (WR 1:27:13, Eliud Kipchoge/Stanley Biwott)
35k 14:16 1:41:01 (WR 1:41:47, Dennis Kipruto Kimetto)
40k 14:31 1:55:32 (WR 1:56:29, Dennis Kipruto Kimetto)
42.195 km 6:07 2:01:39

(Finishing time) New WR (Second half marathon split in 60:34)

Whats is Laureus World Sports Awards


The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual award ceremony honoring individuals and teams from the world of sports along with sporting achievements throughout the year. It was established in 1999 by Laureus Sport for Good Foundation founding patrons Daimler and Richemont and supported by its global partners Mercedes-Benz and IWC Schaffhausen. The awards support the work of Laureus Sport for Good, which supports over 100 community projects in around 40 countries. These projects aim to use the power of sport to end violence, discrimination, and disadvantage, and prove that sport has the power to change the world. The name “Laureus” is derived from the Greek word for laurel, considered a traditional symbol of victory in athletics.


Awarded for men and women from the world of the sport along with their achievements from the previous calendar year
Country Monaco Monaco (2018)
Presented by Laureus Sport for Good Foundation
Hosted by Benedict Cumberbatch(2018)
Most awards Switzerland Roger Federer ( 5 Times )


In order to determine the winners of the Awards, the Laureus Nominations Panel, composed of professional sports editors, writers, and broadcasters from more than 100 countries, vote to create a shortlist of six nominations in five categories:

  • Laureus World Sportsman of the Year
  • Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year
  • Laureus World Team of the Year
  • Laureus World Comeback of the Year
  • Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year

The nominees of two categories are chosen by specialist panels:

  • Laureus Action Sportsperson of the Year
  • Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability
One category is voted for by the public:
  • The Laureus Best Sporting Moment of the Year

The Academy also makes discretionary awards, including:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Sport for Good Award
  • Spirit of Sport Award
  • Exceptional Achievement Award
  • Sporting Inspiration Award

Related posts

Leave a Comment